Dell Ultrasharp 2408WFP 24" Widescreen LCD

Article Index:   

Upon first glance, the 2408WFP didn’t strike us as being visually different compared to most recent Dell displays. Frankly, we think this is a good thing, as the base design we’re presented with here is exceptionally strong, and appeals to both gamers and business-types. Dell has shifted away from this base design with some of their newer models, but in our opinion, the visual differences always end up being negatives compared to what we’re seeing here. In this case, not having a large amount of change is very much a positive.

The Ultrasharp 2408WFP sports a two-tone silver and black color schema which works great when paired with a black or silver chassis sitting next to it. The display itself is surrounded by a thin border which is a matte black plastic. In reality, it’s actually a very dark gray plastic, which is also textured a bit, unlike some previous Dell Ultrasharp displays we’ve seen. This makes the border around the display less shiny, which makes it less distracting if you are using the display in a room with lots of light.
 


Dell 2408WFP - Front


Dell 2408WFP - Rear


While some Dell displays are moving towards “button-less” buttons (relying on touch-sensing to enable/disable menus), the 2408WFP sports real buttons with real tactical feedback. The bottom right corner of the display has a series of six buttons which control the brightness/contrast, display input, picture-in-picture, and power. The buttons are linked to a fairly intuitive on-screen display which helps guide you through the more advanced display options.

The back of the display is largely silver, which connects to the heavy-duty weighted metal-base. The base ships as a separate unit compared to the actual display, and the user must install the base upon setting up the unit. Luckily, Dell has an extremely easy to use mounting system which uses a VESA 100mm bracket. The base easily snaps into place and immediately offers height adjustment, vertical tilt, and portrait/landscape swivel modes. The base also centers the display’s weight and focuses it on the base, which makes it very sturdy, even when you’re adjusting the display to suit your needs. The base also has a cut-out which allows cables to run through it for cleanliness purposes. However, if you plan to run a lot of cables through here, be warned, it gets pretty cramped and difficult only after a few cables. We can’t imagine running all of the available display connectors through this area – this would be next to impossible given the available area to run cables through.
 


Maximum Tilt Upwards


Maximum Tilt Downwards


We found the 2408WFP’s flexibility to be ample enough for our needs, although we did note during our photography that the screen does not have the ability to tilt forward very far. In the shots above, you can see the screen tilting all the way backwards (left) and forwards (right), which is quite a difference in tilt angle. Swiveling the monitor to become a 1200 x 1900 portrait-style display is a piece of cake, provided you leave some leeway with your cables and you've got your monitor height set at a high-level (if too low, the monitor edge will scrape your desk).

Image gallery

Related content

Comments

Comments
amdcrankitup 6 years ago

That is one beautiful moniter! I,ve recently seen a Dell 24" at a local Staples not this paticular one but what I say was good example of their quality! Though a bit pricey at the moment I would be willing to wait it out to get one! Good review!

Crisis Causer 6 years ago

"No matter what your opinion of Dell as a company is, it is difficult to find many people in IT circles who dislike their monitor division."

Mhmm, very true.  My brother has said negative things about Dell before, but he always sings praises on their displays, even going so far as to encourage me to buy one on multiple occasions.  They really are top-tier in the display market.

wagoo 6 years ago

[quote user="News"]

As for comparing the new 2408WFP against the budget-minded E248WFP, well, the difference is quite large. The E248WFP lags in terms of color support, contrast, input connectors, and has no USB ports or integrated card readers. However, the E248WFP has the same base screen as the 2407WFP, but at a much lower price-tag, so we’re certainly seeing progress here..

[/quote] 

 

Are you sure about this? The 160deg viewing angle of the budget E248WFP is usually a tell-tale sign that unlike the other two monitors, it's infected with terrible TN panel AIDS.


SqUiD267 6 years ago

  Too plain IMO. I like more colors on the frame Big Smile But looks like a quality product, I hope.

Nerts 6 years ago

 Did you get a chance to hook it up to a ps3 or a 360, if so how did it scale? With the HDMI it would be a good second screen for that but i've heard about some problems with other 24" displays when it comes to that.

 

Thanks, 

Crisis Causer 6 years ago

That actually sounds like a good thing to add to monitor reviews.  LCD monitors are 16:10 and the 360 and PS3 can't do that, so does it stretch 1920x1080 to fit into 1920x1200, or does it keep aspect ratio and letterbox it with black bars?  That would be good to know, if possible from you guys.

AjayD 6 years ago

I recently purchased one of these, so as not to disgrace my new rig (thanks again HH) with my old 17" VGA monitor. I have to say I have been quite pleased with it. Although, I would strongly disagree with your opinion that it comes properly calibrated right out of the box. It is far too bright and the gamma levels are off. I however, didn't experience any of the red hue issues that other people have complained about and had no dead or stuck pixels.

I only have two complaints. The first being that the left hand side is noticeably brighter than the rest of the screen, which is made quite apparent when displaying darker colors, and the second being that I  briefly experienced a high pitch buzzing sound from the monitor. The sound only occured on one occasion and has yet to resurface, so I am hoping that it will not be a future issue. 

In regards to the contrast ratio, I think it is worth noting that the true ratio is 1000:1 and the 3000:1 ratio is dynamic. I am not a fan of dynamic contrast at all so I don't really see this as an added selling point. Dynamic contrast isn't too bad when the image being displayed is primarily dark, but when the image contains bright portions, the overall quality of the image is destroyed. For those who may not fully understand what dynamic contrast is and how it relates to true or static contrast I will explain the differences. Static contrast ratio is the ratio for the luminosity of  the darkest and brightest colors a display is capable of displaying simultaneously. Where as dynamic contrast ratio applies to the luminosity of the darkest and brightest colors a display is capable of displaying independently. Dynamic contrast works by dimming or under-powering the backlight of a display for dark images. Thus if an image contains bright portions, they will also be dimmed proportionately to those which are dark. 

While better LCD monitors certainly exist, they will not be found priced anywhere near the 2408WFP. Unless you don't mind spending 2g or more on a monitor, this one is sure to satisfy even the most discriminating tastes.

Drago 6 years ago

 The whole backlighting where part of the screen is darker than another, the color shifts when not looking directly at the center of the screen, the blurryness in games are all reasons why i have just stuck with my CRT.  I just cant make myself spend money on a screen that is inferior in quality to my CRT, expecially when it costs nearly 300 bucks for a decent LCD.

Crisis Causer 6 years ago

Same, Drago.  My 21-inch CRT, while heavy as sin, is only moved twice a year, so weight is almost irrelevant.  I can game at or above 1920x1080, while I desktop at 1280x960.  And if a game is too intense for a high resolution, I can do any resolution at all and it is the "native res".  Colors are fine.  A true high quality LCD will win in colors, but who is to say it won't come with problems (and of course will be stuck on a native res).

Drago 6 years ago

 LCD's cannot compare to CRT's in color.  Only the super high end S-IPS panels can get close, but a cheapo CRT will beat the socks off of ANY LCD in color reproduction.

Crisis Causer 6 years ago

Sharpness, contrast, I don't know exactly what I mean.  But using VGA on my CRT and looking at the boldness of colors is not as good as on an Apple LCD, imo.  I don't know how to describe it, but it's better.

higgamo 6 years ago

=O if i get some extra money might try this out

Anonymous 6 years ago

 I cant trust Dell Monitor reviews anymore. They send out their best stuff to review sites and then when you actually order one often you get a different panel than what the review was based off of. Like this monitor for instance has been tested by some users to really high input lag and so there is some ghosting and bluring in games. Yet reviews dont mention this often at all because of course they got the best panels.

BrownFoxOne 6 years ago

I just bought my Wife a new Dell for her college graduation and I got her the 24 inch Ultrasharp and she absolutely loves it. I ihave a 22 inch HP with a glossy front but hers totally rocks!

 

Is your ISP watching you?

Post a Comment
or Register to comment